Qioptiq logo Raytheon Global MilSatCom


Dec 04. BAE Systems Land Systems has confirmed that its Telford, UK, facility will cease production of armoured fighting vehicles (AFVs) in the first quarter of 2005. The site was leased from GKN Plc. (Source: Jane’s)

04 Jan 05. Raytheon Systems Limited (RSL) has become one of the first defence companies in the UK to achieve Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) level 3 certification. CMMI, which is awarded by The Software Engineering Institute (SEI) in the United States, recognises a high level of best business practice measured against a demanding set of criteria. RSL’s achievement is in recognition of its software engineering activities and follows an extensive evaluation by an appraisal team led by an independent evaluator. This team conducted numerous interviews with employees and looked at a series of projects being run by the company as evidence that the processes were being adhered to.

03 Jan 05. CPI Aerostructures, Inc. announced its relocation to new, larger headquarters located at 60 Heartland Blvd. in Edgewood, New York. The Company also has adopted “CPI Aero” as its new name for general business and marketing purposes, which has been incorporated into its new logo.

Dec 04. Type 42 Batch 1 Destroyers: HMS GLASGOW is having all reusable equipment removed, prior to leaving the Fleet by the end of January 2005. HMS NEWCASTLE and CARDIFF are also to be decommissioned in 2005.Sandown Class Minehunters: HMS INVERNESS decommissioned at Faslane on 15 Nov 04, joining sister-ships HMS SANDOWN and BRIDPORT. Comment: The early decommissioning of 12 warships, including the six above, was announced by the Defence Secretary on 21 Jul 04 as part of the ‘restructuring’ of the Armed Forces. (Source: DNA DEFENCE NEWS ANALYSIS, Issue 05/02, 10 Jan 05)

Dec 04. The Air Force Board has selected 206 Squadron as the Maritime Reconnaissance Squadron to disband from 1 Apr 05. The move follows the reduction in the number of Nimrod MR2 aircraft which was announced on 21 Jul 04. Two enlarged Squadrons, 120 and 201 each with 10 rather than eight crews, will remain at RAF Kinloss together with the Nimrod Operational Conversion Unit, 42 (R) Squadron. Comment: The number of MR2 aircraft in service is to be reduced to 16 by 1 Apr 05. Under current plans, the MR2 is due to be phased-out by 2012 and to be replaced by (possibly as few as 12) Nimrod MRA4. (Source: DNA DEFENCE NEWS ANALYSIS, Issue 05/02, 10 Jan 05)

Dec 04. 829 NAS has been recommissioned at Culdrose and is dedicated to serving the Type 23 frigate fleet. The Squadron is the fifth and final Merlin HM Mk1 Squadron, with eight helicopters and 130 personnel. 899 NAS is to disband permanently on 31 Mar 05, as part of the withdrawal of the Sea Harrier from service. Comment: The third and last Sea Harrier Squadron, 801 NAS, is due to disband by 1 Apr 06. The decision to withdraw the Sea Harrier earlier than originally planned has been heavily criticised. (Source: DNA DEFENCE NEWS ANALYSIS, Issue 05/02, 10 Jan 05)

(wef 1 Jan 05)
1. Secretary of State for Defence (Defence Secretary), Chairman of the Council: The Right Honourable G W Hoon MP.
2. Minister of State for the Armed Forces (Armed Forces’ Minister): The Right Honourable A P Ingram MP.

3. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State and Minister for Defence Procurement (Defence Procurement Minister): The Lord Bach of Lutterworth.
4. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State and Minister for Veterans (Junior Defence Minister): I K Caplin Esq MP.

Military Members
5. Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS): General Sir Michael Walker GCB CMG CBE ADC Gen.
6. Chief of the Naval Staff (CNS) and First Sea Lord: Admiral Sir Alan West GCB DSC ADC.
7. Chief of the General Staff (CGS): General Sir Mike Jackson GCB CBE DSO ADC Gen.
8. Chief of the Air Staff (CAS): Air Chief Marshal Sir Jock Stirrup KCB AFC ADC.
9. Vice Chief of the Defence Staff (VCDS): a. Air Chief Marshal Sir Anthony Bagnal

Back to article list