Qioptiq logo Raytheon


Jul 07. September 5th 2007, ComDef 2007, the 29th conference in the Common Defense series, addresses the issues of “Let’s Not Reinvent the Wheel” relative to transformation, budgets, force structure, operations, equipment, production, modernization, and inter-operability. Conference Moderators are Al Volkman, Director, International Cooperation, OUSD (AT&L) and Jan-Olof Lind, National Armaments Director, Sweden.


Conference Moderators
Al Volkman, Director International Cooperation, OUSD AT&L (Confirmed) & Jan-Olof Lind, National Armaments Director, Sweden (Confirmed)

0800-0805 Introductions of the Moderators

0815-0845 National Armaments Roadmap
Hon. John J. Young, Jr., Director, Defense Research & Engineering, Office of the Secretary of Defense (To be invited when in new position)
H.G. Wessberg, State Secretary of Defense, Sweden (Confirmed)

0845-0900 BREAK

0900-0930 NATO and European Developments
Dr. Laszlo Deak, Counselor (Political), Delegation of the European Commission (Confirmed)
Dr. Adrian Kendry, Managing Director, Economics Directorate, NATO HQ

0930-1100 Export Controls/Evolving Models
Pierre Chao, Senior Fellow, International Security Program, CSIS (Confirmed)
Mark Esper, Exec. VP International, AIA (Confirmed)
Beth McCormick, DUSD f. TSP & NDP, OUSD (Confirmed)
Andrew Radcliffe, Counselor (Def. Equipment), British Embassy (Confirmed)
BGen. Mirco Zuliani, Defense Attache, Embassy of Italy, Washington DC (Confirmed)
Moderator: Frank Cevasco, President, Cevasco International (Confirmed)

1100-1230 ComDef Perspectives 20/20
Bruce Bade, Dir.Pacific Arm’mts Coop’n, Office of the Secretary of Defense (Confirmed)
BGEN (Armmt) PhD Olivier-Pierre Jacquotte, Def.Coop’n Attache Elect, Embassy of France (Confirmed)
Rich Millies Deputy Director, Defense Security Cooperation Agency (Confirmed)
CDRE Murugesan, Naval Attache, Embassy of India (Confirmed)
Mark Reynolds, Counselor, Def. Materiel, Embassy of Australia (Confirmed)
Dr. Jennifer Stewart, Director General, Def.Procurem’t., Embassy of Canada (Confirmed)
Moderator: Gertie Arts, Defense Cooperation Attache, Embassy of the Netherlands (Confirmed)

1230-1350 Lunch: 20 Years of Common Defense & the Next 20 Years
GEN. Robert Magnus, Assistant Commandant USMC
Introduced by Vago Muradian, Editor, Defense News (Confirmed)

1350-1500 Future Procurement Models: Affording Capability
Tommy J. Dunehew, Jr., Program Manager International C-17, Globe Master III, Boeing Integrated Def. Sys.
Aaron B. Fuller, III, President, Strategy & Development, North American Public Sector, CSC (Confirmed)
Jim Gerow, Senior Vice President, Swe-Dish Satellite Systems(Confirmed)
Guy Hicks, Vice President, Communications & Public Relations, EADS North America
Moderator: Stephen J. Pimpo, PMP, Managing Director, Bearing Point (Confirmed)

1500-1515 BREAK

1515-1615 Defense Industry Transformation
Ingemar Andersson, Executive VP & Deputy CEO, Saab AB (Confirmed)
Hon. Jeffrey P. Bialos, Attorney at Law, Sutherland, Asbill & Brennan LLP (Confirmed)
Steven C. Grundman, VP Aerospace and Defense CRA (Confirmed)
Moderator: Terry Pudas, Actg.Dir.Ofce of Frce Transfm’n, OSD (Confirmed)

1615-1700 Congressional Perspectives
Melody McEntee, Director, Government Business Relations, Office of Congressman Ruppersburger
Bradford T. Sellers, Defense Resources Specialist, Office of Senator Corker
Christopher Szymanski, Office of Congressman Manzullo

1730-1930 Defense & Service Attaché Reception

Below are the links to see the program in more detail.

PROGRAM: http://www.ideea.com/comdef07/program.htm

REGISTRATION: http://www.ideea.com/comdef07/registration.htm The earlybird discount expires on July 15th.

SPEAKERS: http://www.ideea.com/comdef07/speakers.htm
SPONSORS: http://www.ideea.com/comdef07/sponsors.htm
VENUE: http://www.ideea.com/comdef07/venue.htm
THEME: http://www.ideea.com/comdef07/theme.htm

PDF Program: http://www.idee

Back to article list