Qioptiq logo Raytheon Global MilSatCom



This year, due to the withdrawal of our 2012 US candidate, due to business reasons, we have two European candidates for the BATTLESPACE Businessman of the Year 2012, Lennart Ljungfelt, President of Aimpoint AB and Dr. David Price Group Chief Executive of Chemring Group Plc.

Lennart Ljungfelt, President of Aimpoint AB.

On his first day as President of Aimpoint AB, Lennart Ljungfelt walked into the office of Kjell Gunnarsson, R&D Manager for the red dot sighting originator.

“Just so you know, no one has been able to stay on as president of this company for longer than two years,” Gunnarsson warned him.

Nearly nine years later, Aimpoint’s military, law enforcement and hunting businesses are booming and Ljungfelt is still enjoying every minute at the helm.

Dr. David Price Group Chief Executive of Chemring Group Plc.

“What brought you to Chemring?” The Editor asked.

“My background is in electronics. Having gained a First in Electrical Engineering at University College London in 1974 and a PhD in Correlation processing for Wide Band radar, I went to EMI as an apprentice in the division dealing with the development of systems for the BBC and other broadcasting institutions. Given my interest in astronomy I would have joined NASA if the opportunity arose. I went back to EMI in 1980 and crossed over to defence when the merger with Thorn happened. I ran the fuse division in Basingstoke which is now Thales Missile Electronics. I was then offered the post as Engineering Director in 1988 and cut my teeth in reorganisation when 30% of our engineers had to be laid off in 1989 after the fall of the Berlin Wall” David Price said.

The winner will be announced during AUSA in October and will be presented by last year’s winner Jeff Palombo of Northrop Grumman Electronic Systems at a venue to be announced in due course.

To vote for Lennart send an email to:

To vote for David send an email to:

Back to article list